Approved learning frameworks


The approved learning frameworks are linked to the National Quality Standard, and services are required to base their educational program on these frameworks. The approved learning frameworks are:

  • Belonging, Being and Becoming: The Early Years Learning Framework—for young children aged from birth to 5 years of age, which applies to most long day care, family day care and kindergarten services.
  • My Time, Our Place: Framework for Sch​​ool Age Care—​applies to outside school hours care services and long day care or kindergarten services with school age children.

As part of the 202​​​1 National Quality Framework Approved Learning Frameworks Update project, the frameworks have been updated.​

Belonging, Being and Becoming​​​​​​: The Early Years Learning Framework for Australia (EYLF)

​​My Time, Our Place: Framework for School Age Care in Australia (MTOP)

To learn about the key changes, phased implementation and to read the FAQs, visit the Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA) website​.

Throughout 2023, there will be a transitional period during which approved providers and their services can familiarise themselves with the updated frameworks and begin incorporating new aspects into their educational program and practice.

Additional supporting material will be developed and made available throughout 2023 on the ACECQA website to support providers and their services implement the new learning frameworks.

From early 2024, the original EYLF and MTOP will cease to be recognised under the National Law, and services will be required to use the updated versions.

Learn more about: approved lea​​rning frameworks.

Learning guidelines to support the approved frameworks

A number of learning guidelines have been developed that support and build on the approved learning frameworks, including:

  • Foundati​ons for su​ccess—a practical guideline to extend and enrich learning for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children in the kindergarten year.

Updates to these guidelines to align with the revised frameworks will be undertaken over the course of 2023​ to support the rollout.

The Queensland Curriculum and Assessment Authority offers an accreditation service for other kindergarten guidelines.

You can also​ read a register​ of QCAA—accredited kindergarten guidelines.

Services captured under the Education and Care Services Act 2013

Approved services under the Education and Care Services Act 2013 (ECS Act) must ensure a program based on the approved learning frameworks is delivered to children at the service.

Approved services under the ECS Act are encouraged to familiarise themselves with the updated learning frameworks. Additional supporting material and guidelines will be developed and made available throughout 2023.​​

More information​

  • Templates, forms and resour​ces—access resources, fact sheets, and forms related to approved learning frameworks and guidelines.
  • ECS Act resou​rces—​access resources, forms and fact sheets related to operating a service under the ECS Act including learning frameworks.

Stay up to date

Services regulated under the NQF and ECS Act can subscribe to the ECEC e-bulletin—keep updated on important matters related to the NQF and ECS ACT.​


In this section

Last updated 28 August 2023